Presidential results null and void, claims Raila Odinga

Azimio leader Raila

Azimio la Umoja One Kenya leader Raila Amollo Odinga has rejected the presidential results announced by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chair Wafula Chebukati on Monday.

Speaking at the Kenyatta International Convention Center (KICC), Raila Odinga claimed the figures announced by Chebukati were null and void.

According to the Azimio leader, Chebukati acted in total disregard of the constitution and law, saying that there was no unanimous decision by IEBC on the results announced by Wafula Chebukati.

“We understand that only mr. Chebukati alone had access to the tally of the presidential vote, he denied all the commissioners that information until he suddenly appeared before the commissioners in the late afternoon to present them a fait accompli,” said Raila Odinga.

Raila claimed that barely two hours before his announcement Chebukati called a meeting of the IEBC and revealed to them the different results he was going to announce.

“Four of the seven protested Mr. Chebukati’s actions but Chebukati whose mind appeared made up, did not entertain any discussion of the results, precipitating a walkout by a majority of the commissioners who promptly denounced the results at a press conference,” he said.

Raila said Azimio will be pursuing constitutional and lawful channels and processes to invalidate Chebukati’s illegal and unconstitutional pronouncement.

“We totally and without reservation reject the results announced yesterday by Chebukati,” said Raila Odinga.

“In our view, there is neither a legally and validly declared winner nor a president elect. Chebukati’s announcement purporting to announce a winner is a nullity, he acted with gross impunity and in total disregard of the Constitution and our laws,” he added.

Also read: William Ruto beats Azimio’s Raila Odinga for the top seat

Raila Odinga said that they are certain that Justice will prevail and commended Azimio supporters for maintaining peace urging them to continue doing so.

The results announced by IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati declared UDA’s William Ruto President-elect after garnering 7,176,141 votes.

Raila Odinga managed to garner 6,942,930 to come in second.