History written as four East African countries qualify for AFCON

Harambee Stars who have jetted to Ghana for the final AFCON qualifier match /PHOTO COURTESY
History has been written in East Africa after four countries qalified for the AFCON 2019.

The qualifying countries are Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Burundi .
Uganda was the first country in the region to qualify for the 32nd edition of the African Cup of Nations expected 
to take place between June and July in Egypt .

The Cranes qualified after beating Cape Verde 1-0 at Namboole stadium last year though they lost to Tanzania 3-0.
On other hand Kenya qualified following a marvelous performance in their group, with Ghana topping the group F 
with 9 points, one ahead of Kenya.
Taifa Stars from Tanzania secured a big victory after crashing Uganda 3-0 to join the Cranes in Group L.

Taifa stars qualified after Lesotho drew  0-0 in Cape Verde and hence,they were put up as 
as runners-up to Uganda in the group.
On Saturday, Burundi qualified for the AFCON for the first time in their history after a tight match which saw
 them draw 1-1 with Gabon.

This show that the Eastern region will have at least four representatives in Egypt. 
Egypt will host the tournament as from 21 June to July 19 in a historic match that will see 24 nations participate.