Blow to clubs as KPL bans 5 stadiums

The state of Ruaraka stadium. The stadium has been banned by KPL alongside four others from hosting league matches./COURTESY

Several Kenyan Premier League clubs including Tusker FC, Kariobangi Sharks, Mathari United, Chemelil Sugar, and Posta Rangers have received a blow after KPL on Monday banned the use of five stadiums.

The Stadia Safety and Security Committee has banned Ruaraka stadium, Mumias Sports Complex, Thika Sub County Stadium, Camp Toyoyo and Chemelil Sports Complex from hosting league matches.

According to KPL, the stadiums will remain banned until recommendations for the face-lift are met.

The ban came following several complaints on the state of the stadia.

Other clubs that will be affected by the ban include KCB, Mount Kenya United, Kakamega Homeboyz and Vihiga United.