Parliamentary Service Commission members finally sworn in

Hon. Adan Keynan takes his oath of office as a Commissioner to the Parliamentary Service Commission. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: The National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi is prioritizing passing of the Parliamentary Service Bill by both houses of Parliament even as he embarks as the Chair of the Parliamentary Service Commission for the second term.

Speaking after the swearing in of the 8 newly elected commissioners of the Parliamentary Service Commission on Wednesday, Speaker Muturi who was also sworn in as the chair of the PSC noted that the bill is not a government bill as it serves both members who serve in both the National Assembly and the Senate.

Other Members in the PSC from Jubilee camp include Dr . Naomi Shabaan, Adan Keyanan, Senators Aaron Cheruiyot and Beth Mugo .

From the opposition camp include MPs Aisha Jumwa from Malindi ,Ben Momanyi from Borabu and Vihiga Senator George Khaniri.

The other two non MPs Commissioners are Dr. Lorna Mumelo and another position yet to be filled.

PSC positions are key in parliamentary undertakings because they come with influence on employment in
Parliament, oversight over a large budget, travel abroad, a vehicle, and spacious office and staff.