Governor Joho’s passport among 14 suspended by government

Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho./FILE

Nairobi,KENYA: The government has suspended the passports of 14 opposition politicians who are thought to have had a hand in the controversial oath taking of NASA leader Raila Odinga.

In a letter seen by Baraka FM sent to NASA strategist David Ndii, written the Major general Gordon Kihangalwa the Immigration PS, the leaders had been given 21 days to surrender their passports.

” Pursuant to Section 31 (1) (2) of the Kenyan Citizenship and Immigration Act 2011, you are hereby notified that passport number C051258 which is in your possession remains suspended forthwith” the letter read in part.

Among those whose passports have been suspended are Mombasa governor Hassan Joho,Siaya senator James Orengo,NASA CEO Norman Magaya,NASA strategist David Ndii, businessman Jimi Wanjigi, former Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama,

“Consequently, you are required to surrender the passports to the director of immigration services at Nyayo House 9th floor within 21 days of receipt of this notice,” says the letter sent to Ndii.

Self-proclaimed NRM general Miguna Miguna who has since been deported to Canada also had his passport revoked.

This comes after a section of NASA politicians were granted anticipatory bail after they went to court seeking to block their arrest over their participation in the “Raila oath” ceremony.

However, the police have refuted claims that they plan to arrest the 12 politicians who include Hassan Joho,Babu Owino,David Ndii, Jimmy Wanjigi and several others.

“The National Police Service wishes to state that neither Hassan Joho, Jimmy Wanjigi, David Ndii nor the 9 others who have sought anticipatory bail are being sought as of now in connection with the commission of any crimes.” The National Police Service tweeted.