Mombasa, Taita Taveta and Kwale get new County Commissioners

New Mombasa County Commissioner Abdirisack Jaldesa./COURTESY

Abdirisack Jaldesa is the new Mombasa County Commissioner.

This is according to the changes made by the Ministry of Interior on Tuesday.

“To enhance service delivery in the National Administration, changes have been made among County Commissioners in all the 47 counties of the Republic of Kenya with effect from 7th March 2023,” read a statement from Interior Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki.

In the new changes, Josephine Onungo takes over from Loyford Kibaara as Taita Taveta County Commissioner. Commissioner Kibaara has been transferred to Nakuru.

Michael Mwangi Meru takes over as Kwale County Commissioner from Commissioner Gideon Oyagi who has been transferred to Trans Nzoia County.

In Tana River, Deputy County Commissioner Bejah M’mbesta has been promoted to County Commissioner with Commissioner Thomas Sankei being transferred to Bungoma.

Others in the Coastal Counties that have been promoted to County Commissioners are Lamu DCC Louis Rono and Kilifi DCC Josephat Biwott.

Tana North DCC James Taari has been transferred to Kajiado North, he will be replaced by Moranga Morekwa.