President Kenyatta signs into law 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill

President Kenyatta signing into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill at State House, Nairobi./PSCU

President Uhuru Kenyatta has signed into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill which will now pave way for the disbursement of funds to counties.

The new law allocates a sum of sh.369.87 billion in the current fiscal year to Counties and includes sh.316.5 billion of Equitable Share and sh.13.73 billion in Government of Kenya Conditional Grants.

Also included is sh.9.43 billion from the Road Maintenance/Fuel Levy as well as sh.30.2 billion in Loans and Grants.

The conditional allocation will be utilized in provision of services such as leasing of medical equipment and rehabilitation of youth polytechnics across all the 47 Counties.

The Bill, which was passed by parliament on Tuesday, was presented to the Head of State for signature by Speaker of the Senate Ken Lusaka at a ceremony attended by Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi and Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yattani.

Also present were Leaders of Majority in the Senate and the National Assembly Samuel Poghisio and Amos Kimunya, Head of Public Service Dr Joseph Kinyua, Clerks of both Houses Jeremiah Nyegenye (Senate) and Michael Sialai (National Assembly), Solicitor General Ken Ogeto and State House Deputy Chief of Staff Njee Muturi.