Duale ousted as National assembly majority leader

Ex-National Assembly Majority leader Aden Duale./COURTESY

The majority leader in the National Assembly Aden Duale has been axed from his lucrative position.

Duale has been replaced by Kipipiri member of parliament  Amos Kimunya.

His ouster has been occasioned by a duly decision made by the party’s Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday at the KICC Nairobi.

Kimunya served powerful dockets during retired President Mwai Kibaki’s tenure.

Some of the ministerial positions Kimunya held include Trade and Finance.

The changes saw Eldas MP Adan Keynan picked as the Coalition Secretary.

Kangema MP Muturi Kigano will now chair the Justice, Legal Affairs, and Human Rights Committee.

Kieni Mp Kanini Kega will Chair Budget Committee replacing Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichungwa.

A statement from State House sent to newsrooms by Statehouse spokesperson Kanze Dena indicated that  Deputy President William Ruto, Jubilee party secretary Raphael  Tuju and a total of 174 Jubilee Coalition Members of the National Assembly attended the meeting.

“The Party Leader said the Coalition, through the new Leader of Government Business and Majority Chief Whip, will communicate changes in the composition of House Committees to the Speaker of the National Assembly by Thursday, 25th June 2020,”  Dena said.

“The Head of State reminded the legislators to focus on the Coalition’s development agenda and advised them against engaging in divisive politics.”The statement added

The latest purge comes amid a widening rift between President Uhuru and his deputy William Ruto. 16 MPs allied to Ruto were ousted from the National Assembly committees and the senate was also adversely affected in the purge.

The MPs who served as chairpersons and vice-chairpersons of various committees were served with seven-day notices of imminent removal.