Kenyans get three more hours as President Uhuru extends curfew by 30 days

President Uhuru Kenyatta during a past briefing. photo:file

President Uhuru Kenyatta has extended the nationwide dusk to dawn curfew, which was supposed to end on Saturday 6th June, by another 30 days.

Speaking at State House in Nairobi on Saturday, President Kenyatta also adjusted the curfew hours from the initial 7pm-5am to 9pm-4am.

The President also extended the cessation of movement into and out of Mombasa, Nairobi and Mandera Counties for another 30 days.

However, residents of Old Town, Kilifi and Kwale Counties and Eastleigh area in Nairobi can breathe a sigh of relief as restriction of movement into and out of their areas was lifted.

Below is an extract of the president’s speech with the directives issued on Saturday..

“Fully cognizant of the irreducible minimum given by our experts, and in keeping with the advice of the National Security Council, I today thereby direct and order as follows:

That the cessation of movement into and out of Eastleigh area of Nairobi and the specific limitations in force with respect to the Old Town are in Mombasa that is currently inforce shall lapse at 4am of the 7th of June, 2020.

That in view of the successful containment of the disease in the counties of Kilifi and Kwale, the cessation of movement into and out of the two counties that is currently inforce, shall also lapse at 4am on the 7th of June, 2020

Following stakeholders consultation in the education sector, the Ministry of Education jointly with the ministry of health issue and publicize guidelines on a gradual and progressive return to normalcy in the education sector by the third term that is from the 1st of September, 2020.

Further that the Ministry of Education shall announce the new school calendar by the middle of August.

Following these consultations, within seven days of today, the Ministries of Interior and Health will constitute an Interfaith Council to work out modalities and protocols of reopening our places of worship.

That in the meantime, the ban on all forms of gatherings including, but not limited to political gatherings, social gatherings including bars is be and is hereby extended for a further 30 days.

That due to the evolving nature of the disease globally, international travel restrictions are hereby extended. In the meantime the Ministry of Transport is directed within seven days from the date hereof to engage all key stakeholders and develop protocols and guide resumption of local air travel.

That due to the increase in patterns of infections, the cessation of movement into and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan Area, Mombasa and Mandera be further extended by 30 days.

That the nationwide dusk to dawn curfew currently inforce until today 6th June, 2020, is extended for a further 30 days. However the commencement time for the same shall be varied from 7pm to 9pm with the end time of the same be varied from 5am to 4am. Therefore effective 7th June, 2020, the nationwide dusk to dawn curfew will run from 9pm in the evening to 4am in the morning. This variation should enable Kenyans to have a full workday schedule.”