Baraka FM shines as journalist bag awards in AJEA

Baraka FM AJEA finalists and winners with Media Council CEO David Omwoyo during the 2018 Gala Dinner in Nairobi. Baraka FM bagged 3 awards during the ceremony. PHOTO/ Christopher Nyamuta

The Star of Baraka FM shone bright as 3 of its members bagged awards at the Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (AJEA) that was held in Nairobi on Friday by the Media Council of Kenya.

Oscar Nyoha who brings you ‘Jopo La Kaunti’ program on the weekdays at 7pm was the winner in the Gender Reporting category through a feature story on how women’s rights in some communities are violated in relation to land ownership.

In his story, Nyoha gave more insight on how Mijikenda women’s rights are violated when it comes to owning land, hurdles they go through to achieve that and how hard it is for their male counterparts to allow it.

“I thank God, the Baraka team for support, the listener and the judges. On matter of gender equality, there is a lot to be done, especially in the Mijikenda,” Nyoha said.

“I am humble to win this award. It is ours as Baraka team,” he added.

In the health radio category, we showed that you can still trust us to give you insights on key health matters as Baraka’s Brian Osweta bagged the award for the Health reporter of the year, following a story he did about heart diseases, with George Otieno and Joseph Jira also from Baraka being finalists.

Media freedom radio category also came Baraka’s way with the stations Weldon Kemboi winning the category, through a story he did on fake news. Janet Murikira and Joseph Jira also from Baraka FM were finalists in this category.

Murikira also emerged a finalist in the Good Governance Reporting radio category.

Philip Ochieng’ and Lucy Oliang’ emerged winners in the Veteran journalist category.

KTNs Hussein Mohammed and Sharon Momanyi won the Journalist of the year award.

Baraka FM managed to get 8 finalists in the competition with 3 winning in their respective categories.