Section of legislators protest exclusion of youth in Uhuru-Raila peace team

President Uhur Kenyatta and Raila Odinga at a past function. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: A section of members of parliament have called on President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition chief Raila Odinga to include youths in the recently formed peace team.

In a media briefing at parliamentary building the two legislators, Kakamega senator Cleophas Malala, Butere member of parliament Tindi Mwale aired their disappointment after it emerged that youths were not included in the team.

“It is demoralizing that the two respected leaders did not deem it fit to include youths in their unity team,” Malala said.

They urged Kenyatta and Odinga to consider youths in the team so as to uphold the spirit of inclusivity and help propel in building bridges initiative.

“We call upon the two respected leaders to consider including youths in their team.”He added

They have indicated that if the leaders will not implement their call then they will form a youthful parallel youth committee that will champion the healing and reconciliation agenda of the youths across the country.

The 14-member team to steer President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila Odinga’s unity deal will be co-chaired by lawyer Paul Mwangi (representing Raila) and Martin Mwangi (representing Uhuru).

The members include Dr. Adams Oloo, Agnes Kavindu, Busia Senator Amos Wako, Florence Omose, Saeed Mwanguni, James Matundura, Major (rtd) John Seii, Bishop Lawi Imathiu and Samburu Woman Representative Maison Leshomo.

Others are Garissa Senator Yusuf Haji, Morompi ole Ronkai, Bishop Peter Njenga, Rose Moseu and Zecheus Okoth who will act as advisers.