NASA senators oust  Wetangula as Senate Minority leader


Nairobi, KENYA: NASA allied senators in the country have de-whipped Bungoma senator and NASA principal Moses Wetangula as the Senate minority leader.

This is despite an assurance to Wetangula from his co-principals Musalia Mudavadi and Kalonzo Musyoka that he would not be de-whipped.

19 senators unanimously voted to replace Wetangula with the SiayaSenatorr James Orengo who will be deputized by the Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala who is the Amani National Congress senator who attended the controversial swearing in of NASA leader Raila Odinga.

The decision was reached  during a NASA senate parliamentary group meeting on Tuesday.

The senators have accused Wetangula of arrogance and being a stumbling block to the coalition’s activities.

Nominated Senator Beatrice Kwamboka is set to replace ANC’s Petronila Were as the deputy chief whip following the promotion of Malala from the speaker’s panel.

Nominated senator Judith Pareno is set to replace Malala in the speaker’s panel.

This comes amidst cracks in the NASA coalition following Raila Odinga’s controversial swearing in on 30th January which was not attended by the three NASA principals Kalonzo Musyoka, Moses Wetangula and Musalia Mudavadi and a resolution by NASA leader Raila Odinga to work with the Jubilee government.