NASA legislators walk out in protest during Senate Roads committee elections


Nairobi, KENYA: NASA allied Senators have walked out of the Roads and Transport senate committee who were on the process of electing the Chair and Vice Chairperson protesting on allegations that State House is meddling with the process.

Led by Kilifi Senator Stewart Madzayo, Kakamega senator Cleophas Malala and Kitui Senator Enock Wambua walked out of the committee accusing statehouse of interfering with the electoral process of parliamentary committees so as to have the Jubilee legislators clinching the chair and vice chair seats.

“Committees especially our transport committee is a platform to perform our oversight role on the executive, but the executive is influencing even the voting of committees, the big question here is how will we perform our oversight role if at all the election of a chair and vice chair is being controlled from statehouse,” said Senator Malala

They blasted the executive accusing it of tendencies of extending control to the legislature which ought to be independent in executing its oversight role.

“As a coalition, we decided to walk out. We decided not to participate in the election because it had already been predetermined at State house.”He said.

This is after Jubilee Senators clinched all the top seats in the house, leaving the opposition counterparts to make the numbers as members.

Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi and Marsabit Senator Godana Hargura were elected Chair and Vice of the Transport Committee.

Earlier, Jubilee Senators had a clean sweep in Tourism, Trade and Industrialization committee with Senator of Kirinnyaga Kibiru Charles Reubenson sailing unopposed and Lamu Senator Anuar Loitiptip as Vice-chair.

County Public Accounts and Investment Committee will be led by HomaBay senator Moses Kajwang and ViceChair Meru senator Mithika Linturi clinching the seat.