Four universities closed down indefinitely

GSU ooficer at the Daystar University main campus in Athi River on Friday PHOTO COURTESY

Mombasa,KENYA:Four universities which include two private and two public have been closed down indefinitely over the past week due to different reasons.

The four institutions that have been closed down include Kenyatta University, Daystar University, Umma University and Technical University of Mombasa.

Kenyatta University and Technical university of Mombasa were closed down indefinitely due to the ongoing lecturers strike.

According to a memo sent to students at the Technical university of Mombasa, the decision had been arrived at following a senate board meeting on Thursday.

Students were requested to leave the university premises by 9.00am on Saturday.

“By copy of this memo, the security officers should ensure that the hostels and university premises are vacated as directed” Read part of the Memo.

The two private universities Umma and Daystar were closed down following student unrest at the institutions.

At Daystar university trouble began when Students boycotted learning on Thursday and blocked the school gate in accusing the Vice chancellor of mismanagement of the institution.

GSU officers were called to calm the situation and the university management closed the institution indefinitely, suspending the student’s council whom it accused of refuse to enter into dialogue with the management.

Kenya’s first Islamic university Umma University has also been closed down after students went on rampage at the Kajiado campus.

According to a letter written by Dr Hussein Omar the registrar of Academic affairs at the university the students were expected to vacate the institution by 3.00pm on Friday.

The closure just comes a few days after the education cabinet secretary Dr Fred Matiang’i warned striking lecturers that they would not receive their November salaries.