Government declares curfew in Lamu, Tana River, following al shabaab-linked attacks


Lamu, KENYA: The government on Saturday declared a dusk to dawn curfew in parts of Lamu and Tana River, where suspected al shabaab militants beheaded nine people earlier on Friday.

Fred Matiang’i, who was appointed acting Internal security CS to succeed Joseph Nkaisseri who died on Friday, said in a gazette notice that the curfew was meant to facilitate a security operation against the militants.

“This order shall apply during the hours of darkness, between the period of 6:30pm, in the evening and 6:30am, in the morning,” the notice read in part, without saying how long the curfew would last.

The curfew covers 16 areas within Lamu, neighbouring Tana River and Garissa counties.

The areas are among others Mangai, Malalani, Ijara, Hola, Garsen and Kipini.

This week alone suspected militants have killed 12 people in two separate attacks in Lamu.

They also  killed even more in land mine attacks in the past month in the same county and the eastern border towns of Garrisa and Mandera.