President Ruto appoints six Court of Appeal judges

President William Ruto during the Srearing in ceremony./COURTESY

President William Ruto has appointed six judges to the Court of Appeal.

In his maiden speech as the President of Kenya, Dr. William Ruto said the six will be sworn in on Wednesday.

“I will appoint the six judges already nominated to the Court of Appeal which was done three years ago by the Judicial Service Commission and tomorrow I shall preside over their swearing in so that they can get on with the business of the people of Kenya,” said President Ruto.

He said his administration will also increase budgetary allocation to the judiciary by an additional three billion shillings annually for the next five years.

“These resources will support the bottom-up scaling of justice by increasing the number of small claims courtsssss from the current 25 to 100,” said President Ruto.

“We will also work with the judiciary to build High Courts in the remaining seven counties and magistrate courts in the remaining 123 sub-counties and support their ongoing digitization program,” he added.

President Ruto said that these interventions empower the judiciary to adjudicate and expeditiously conclude corruption cases, commercial disputes and all other matters.

“My administration will respect judicial decisions while we cement the place of Kenya as a country anchored on democracy and the rule of law,” said the President.

In his speech, Ruto said he will demonstrate his commitment to the independence of judiciary.