Tana River county pleads to be white-listed over unpaid debts

Tana River governor Dhadho Godhana .The county has called on the senate to expunge it from the list of counties set to be blacklisted over unpaid debts PHOTO COURTESY

The Tana River county government has called on the national treasury to expunge it from counties set to be blacklisted over pending bills.

Speaking during a meeting between the senate finance committee and governors in the affected counties, county chief finance officer Mathew Kabwoya said the county government has already settled 60 per cent of the sh. 507, 832,631 it owed to suppliers.

Kabwoya said the remainder will be settled in the first quarter of next year.

Mombasa, Tana River among counties to be blacklisted over debts

On the other hand, governors Mike Sonko of Nairobi,Alfred Mutua of Machakos and Samuel Ole Tunai of Narok have called on the senate to intervene and salvage the situation which is getting out of hand as treasury gears towards halting wiring of funds to the affected counties; if they fail to settle the said bills.

They also asked the treasury to give them time as the figures given by the auditing agencies on pending bills differ and the risk factor is that they might end up paying ghost suppliers and contractors.

“You need to intervene on our behalf so that the treasury doesn’t stop the transfer of funds, let them be given time.”Tunai said

By the end of last month the treasury cabinet secretary Ukur Yattan had issued a directive to 15 counties to settle pending bills failure to which they will be blacklisted.

The counties affected include Nairobi, Machakos, Narok, Vihiga, Isiolo, Tana River, Migori, Tharaka Nithi and Bomet, Kirinyaga, Nandi, Mombasa, Kiambu, Garissa and Baringo