Six chief officers take oath of office in Taita Taveta

The chief officers during the oath taking ceremony PHOTO COURTESY
Taita, Taveta, KENYA: Six County Chief Officers on Tuesday took an oath of office in an event presided over by Voi senior principal Magistrate Elena Nderitu at the governor’s office in Wundanyi.
The six include Liverson Mghendi of Special programs, Philomena Kirote of Education and Libraries, Silvanus Mwakoma of Youth, Sports, Culture and Tourism, Leonard Langat of Finance and planning, Christine Mwakera of Health and Sanitation services and Reuben Ngeti of Environment, Lands, Planning and Natural Resources.
Speaking after witnessing the ceremony, His Excellency Governor Granton Samboja challenged the nominees to dedicate their energies on the job ahead of them and maintain high standards of integrity.
“You are joining the County government at a time when there is a renewed effort by the two levels of government to fight corruption and restore sanity in the use of public resources under the care of public servants,” noted HE Samboja.
He advised the officers to oversee the prudent use of taxpayers money and work closely with other departments to ensure that there is timely service delivery to county residents.
The governor appealed to the National government to speed up the transfer of funds to counties to enable development projects in the county.
He told the Finance and Planning CCO, Mr. Langat, to ensure more county funds are channeled towards development.
Deputy governor Majala Mlagui challenged the new CCO’s to embrace teamwork, respect and maintain a good working relationship with the county assembly.
She urged the outgoing CCOs to ensure smooth handing over to enable the new officers to run their offices effectively.
During the event, the Chief Officers also signed performance contracts.
Mata wards MCA Chanzu Khamadi and nominated MCA Anastanzia Wakesho were present.
Others present during the function were County Executive Committee Members, the Governor’s advisors, and the County Public Service Board members.