Injera returns as Simiyu name squad for Wellington and Sydney 7s

Kenya Rugby Sevens team players at a past match. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: Kenya’s Rugby Sevens team head coach Innocent Simiyu has named a 13-man squad for the upcoming Wellington and Sydney legs for the 2016/2017 HSBC World Rugby 7s series.

All time World Rugby Sevens Series try top scorer Collins Injera, Oscar Ouma, Sammy Oliech, Bush Mwale and Eden Agero are the five new faces included in the team.

Injera makes a comeback after missing out in the opening two legs held in Dubai and Cape Town citing fitness concern as asserted by coach Simiyu.

In Wellington Sevens scheduled for January 28-29, Kenya is pooled alongside England, Argentina and Papua New Guinea.

Kenya sits 10th in the 16-team table standings with 17 points with South Africa leading on 41 after two legs.

Kenya’s Sevens Squad;

Andrew Amonde (captain),Willy Ambaka, Oscar Ouma, Dan Sikuta, Bush Mwale, Brian Tanga, Leonard Mugaisi, Eden Agero, Augustine Lugonzo, Sammy Oliech, Billy Odhiambo, Collins Injera, Nelson Oyoo.