FKF relegates three teams for failing to comply with club licensing


Nairobi, KENYA: Football Kenya Federation FKF has relegated three clubs from the topflight league for failing to meet World football governing body FIFA Club Licensing requirements.

The three are the 2009 Kenya Premier League KPL champions Sofapaka FC, Thika United and Muhoroni Youth.

The trio now join second division tier league where they are again required to apply for a license and submit their respective documents before the stipulated deadline of 31st January.

Addressing the press at the FKF offices in Nairobi on Monday afternoon, FKF President Nick Mwendwa confirmed that only 15 teams will feature in the topflight league in the 2017 season, one team less of the usual 16.

All clubs were required to comply with three categories of licensing where category A which covers financials and legal matters, was compulsory.

According to Mwendwa the clubs that meet the requirements are; League champions Tusker FC, Ulinzi Stars, Bandari, AFC Leopards, Gor Mahia, Kakamega Homeboyz, Chemelil Sugar Posta Rangers, Western Stima, Mathare United, Sony Sugar, Nakumatt, Zoo Kericho, Kariobangi Sharks and Nzoia United.