The 2022 World Cup Tournament begins this Sunday

Portugal midfielder Bruno Fernandez in action against Nigeria in a friendly match./COURTESY

The wait for the 22nd edition World Cup is over.

The first match of this highly-controversial World Cup takes place at the Al Bayt Stadium on Sunday afternoon, as hosts Qatar lock horns with Ecuador in Group A.

Defending champions France are one of the contenders despite missing key players like Paul Pogba and Ngolo Kante who played a big role to secure the trophy in Russia 2018.

Five-time champions Brazil are also on the radar of making another impact having won their last title in 2002.

Germany has won this title four times and is also on the list of the top teams as well as Lionel Messi’s Argentina, England, Portugal, and Belgium.

African champions Senegal confirmed they will miss their star Sadio Mane due to injury and they will depend on Watford winger Ismael Sarr.

Cameroon, Ghana, Morocco, and Tunisia are the other teams that will represent Africa in this world cup.

Here is what the world cup group stages look like.

GROUP A: Qatar (hosts), Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands.

GROUP B: England, Iran, United States, Wales.

GROUP C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland.

GROUP D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia.

GROUP E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan.

GROUP F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia.

GROUP G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon.

GROUP H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea.