Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale to get more parliamentary seats in new BBI proposal

President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga when they arrived at the BBI consultative meeting for Members of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly) being held in Naivasha. The BBI campaign steering committee has agreed to add 70 more parliamentary seats./PSCU

Mombasa Kilifi and Kwale counties will be getting more parliamentary seats in the new proposal by the Building Bridges Initiative Campaign steering team to add 70 more seats nationally.

In a statement from the team, Mombasa will be getting an additional three MPs, Kwale two more and Kilifi four more, in a move to address gender, PWDs and under-representation issues within heavily populated constituencies, raised during the BBI report launch on Monday 26th October.

“This morning, the BBI consultative meeting for Members of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly), while meeting in Naivasha; has agreed on a formula for the allocation of the seats by county. Both HE the President and the Rt. Hon. Former PM were present at the talks,” read the statement.

“With the addition of 70 constituencies, we now have 360 MPs to address the requirements of article 81(b,c and d) and article 89(7). The population quota now becomes 132,138 people per MP,” it continued to read.

Mombasa with a population of 1,208,333 people will now have nine MPs instead of the current six.

Kilifi, which has the highest population in the coast region with 1,453,787 people will have 11 MPs from the current seven.

Kwale County with 866,820 people will have six MPs.

The three remaining coastal counties of Tana River, Lamu and Taita Taveta will not get additional seats.

Nairobi County which has the largest population of 4,397,073 people will get an additional 16 MPs to raise its numbers to 33.