Judiciary tribunal members take oath of office

Supreme court building in Nairobi. All court cases have been suspended due to the Coronavirus outbreak./COURTESY

Nairobi, KENYA: Chief Registrar of the Judiciary Anne Amadi has sworn in Ms. Anne W. Mwangi as the new chairperson of the communication and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal (CAMAT).

Dr Nancy Macharia, Pius Mutisya, Caro Kariuki, Waigi Kamau and Harun Mohammed Yussuf also took an oath of office as members of the Education Appeals Tribunal, while Jane Mwereru, as the tribunal’s Secretary.

Speaking during the ceremony on Monday, Amadi said that since the mandate of the Education Appeals Tribunal is to handle appeals emanating from any persons aggrieved by the decisions of County Education Boards, it is expected that there will be a huge workload once the tribunal starts its business.

She cited development its rules on how to hear matters and the creation of awareness on the existence of the tribunal in the education sector, as some of the urgent issues for the tribunal to handle.

“I am confident that you are up to the task and the Judiciary is here to support you to execute your mandate effectively and efficiently,” the CRJ said.

She added that the Basic Education Act, 2013, which establishes the tribunal, also has some legislative gaps that the stakeholders will need to deliberate on for instance, it does not provide for a chairperson and therefore they may require to elect one of their members to chair meetings as they wait for amendments.

On the Communication and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal, the CRJ said that since communication has evolved in the recent past, it calls for proactivity and resolution of disputes taking into account the challenges brought about by advancement in technology.

Others who witnessed the swearing-in were: Principal Secretaries, Dr. Richard Belio Kipsang (Education) and Fatuma Hirsi Mohamed (State Department of Broadcasting and Telecommunication). The Acting Registrar of Tribunals, Anne Asugah, administered the Oaths.