Uhuru, Raila to be awarded honorary degrees

President Uhuru Kenyatta, Deputy President William Ruto and Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga during the president's tour in Kisumu./COURTESY

President Uhuru Kenyatta and former Prime Mininster Raila Odinga will today be awarded honorary degrees by Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology.

Uhuru who arrived in Kisumu on Thursday to launch pilot phase of the Universal Health Coverage (UHC) programme is currently in Bondo.

The president is on a two-day working visit to Kisumu and Siaya Counties.

The university, founded in 2009, is celebrating it’s 6th graduation ceremony.