Aisha Jumwa,Suleiman Dori among 10 summoned by ODM party

Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa together DP William Ruto./FILE

Nairobi, KENYA: Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa and Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori have been summoned to appear before the ODM disciplinary committee on 10th October.

According to a letter issued by the ODM disciplinary committee chairperson Fred Athuok Wednesday evening, the two legislators and 8 members of county assemblies are expected to explain on why the party should not take disciplinary action against them.

6 of the MCA’s are from  Nyamira county and they include the majority leader Masira Duka Oyagi,  Bogichora ward MCA George Morara and nominated MCA’s Damaris Nyarangi Muoni,Mose Abel Mokaya,Mogere Carolyne Gesare, and Mwamba Monica.

Others include nominated Busia county MCA Immaculate Joyce Adhiambo and Nakuru county minority leader Hon Peter Palanga.

The party also said that other members from Homabay County would be required to write show cause letters on why they should not face disciplinary action.

The genesis of friction between the two legislators and the ODM party is traced to their close association to Deputy President William Ruto with both legislators being accused of allegedly backing to Ruto’s 2022 presidential bid at a time when the party had warned its members against backing any presidential candidate not affiliated to the party.

The two were accused of disrespecting the party leader Raila Odinga and insinuating that they had already left the party.

In August, the ODM party demanded the two legislators to write show cause letters explaining why they should not face disciplinary action, however, none of the legislators responded to the party with  Aisha being quoted by media saying she had not left the ODM party but was rather extending the March handshake between ODM leader Raila Odinga and President Uhuru Kenyatta.

However, a section of the region’s politicians who include Kilifi governor Amason Kingi and Mombasa county Woman representative had warned the party against disciplining the two legislators.