President Uhuru yet to receive resignation letters of the three IEBC commissioners, says Chebukati

IEBC immediate ex-Chairperson Wafula Chebukati. PHOTO: file

Nairobi, KENYA: The president is yet to receive official resignation letters from the three IEBC commissioners Paul Kurgat,Margaret Mwachanya and Consolata Nkatha who resigned last month citing lack of confidence in the leadership.

Appearing before the National Assembly’s Justice and Legal Affairs Committee, IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati accused the head Of public service Joseph Kinyua and the treasury PS Dr. Kamau Thugge for failing to confirm to the commission if the 3 commissioners have indeed resigned officially.

Chebukati also defended his continued stay and the other 2 commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye noting that the commissions operations are not hampered by the reported resignation of the three commissioners, as various programmes and activities have been approved for implementation.

On the decision to send the Chief Executive Officer Ezra Chiloba on a 3 month compulsory leave,Chebukati said the step was occasioned by pending bills of over 1 billion shillings arising from suppliers contracted for the 2017 General Election who had not been paid despite their services being utilized.

Chairman Wafula Chebukati also said the commission observed that the huge pending bills was due to the flouting of procurement rules at the time saying they it would open the commission to audit query.