IEBC to announce final presidential results at 3:30pm

IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati.

Nairobi, KENYA: The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission is set to announce the presidential winner in the just concluded repeat polls due at 3:30 pm Monday afternoon.

In a media briefing at the Bomas of Kenya on Monday, the commission vice chair Consolatta Maina said that IEBC has been prompted to announce the winner after it emerged that the total count of votes in the counties which snubbed the elections will not affect the results outcome.

She indicated that the commission will not conduct election in the affected counties which include ,Siaya ,Kisumu HomaBay and Migori after it failed to take place due to security reasons.

According to IEBC, president uhuru Kenyatta who is also Jubilee candidate secured a total of 7,483,895 million votes while NASA presidential candidate who pulled out of the race garnered 73,288, Abduba Dida garnered 14,107 ,Japhet kaluyu secured a total of 8,261 votes , Michael Mwaura got 6,007 votes, while Joseph Nyagah has a total of 5,554 votes ,consequently Shaghalalaga Jirongo got 3,832 votes .

The voter turn out at the constituency level is 42.36 percent and valid votes are 7,616 ,217 votes .

Registered voters at the constituency level were 17,978 ,167 while the the total number of registered voters at the national level were 19,611,423 votes.

The total number of constituencies where votes were recorded hit 266 out of of 291.