IEBC postpones elections in four Nyanza counties

IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati.

The independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has postponed indefinitely the elections scheduled for Saturday in four Nyanza counties in Siaya due to security reasons.

In a media briefing at Bomas of Kenya on Friday IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati said that the commisson took such action following the violence and demonstrations that has been affecting the four counties which include Siaya ,Kisumu ,HomaBay and Migori.

The affected constituencies include Alego Usonga,’Uriri ,suna EastSuna West ,Bondo, Awendo HomaBay Town ‘kisumu East, Kisumu West,Muhoroni, Nyakach Nyando, Nyatike ,Rangwe, Rarieda, Rongo, Suba
North, Suba south ,Ugunja among others.

At the same time, IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati has announced thatrepeat election will continue as scheduled on Saturday in selected polling stations in Fafi and Turkana where the exercise was affected
by security issues and adverse weather conditions.

The commission had indicated that it would hold repeat elections in Kisumu, Siaya, Migori and Homa Bay counties where the exercise failed to take off due to violent confrontation between protesters and police officers.

According to Chebukati, of the 40,883 polling stations, elections are yet to be held in 3,635 polling stations with 1,770,475 voters, 9 per cent of registered voters.

“The commission has deliberated on the various incidents happening in some parts of the country and has postponed the election scheduled to take place tomorrow to further date to be announced,” Chebukati.said