Three Mombasa CECs retained in first cabinet appointments

Mombasa finance county executive Hazel Koitaba who has been nominated to take over the health department PHOTO COURTESY

Mombasa,KENYA:Mombasa governor Ali Hassan Joho has retained three county executive officers in his recent appointment of six county executive officers.

Hazel Koitaba the county finance executive has been nominated to the health department while Taufiq Balala had been  retained in the Transport , infrastructure and public works department .

His water counterpart Fatma Awale has also been retained in the water docket.

New entrants  in the county executive list include Edward Dzilla Nyale  who takes over Antony Njaramba in the department of lands ,planning and housing,Dr Godffery Nyongesa Nato who replaces Lewa Tendai Mtana in the department of environment , waste management and energy.

Former chief of staff Kevin Munywoki Kyallo will take over in the Youth gender, sports and  cultural affairs docket.

The appointments were made by the governor in a letter dated 22nd September to the clerk of the county assembly.

“According to the powers conferred to me by the county government act 2012 sec 35,I hereby forward the names of the nominated executive members for vetting and approval before appointment to the position of county executive committee members as follows” Reads part of the letter.

The dockets that are yet to be filled include the Finance and economic docket, Tourism and culture development, Education and children, Agriculture, livestock and fisheries and Trade energy and industrial development.