Justin Nkaduda elected as Tana River county assembly speaker

Tana River County Assembly during a past session. PHOTO: COURTESY.
Tana River,KENYA:Former Tana River county   senatorial hopeful Justin  Nkaduda  has been elected as the Tana river county assembly speaker.
Nkadunda who was eyeing the senatorial seat on an ODM party ticket garnered 15 votes against former deputy speaker  Hassan Dube’s 8 votes in a second round of voting.
The seat had attracted twelve applicants  who included former  Galole Mp Mr. Hassan Dukicha, former Garsen mp Mr. Ibrahim Sane, gubernatorial candidates Mr. Danson Buya Mungatana, Anania Karhayu Deye, former Tana River assembly clerk and candidate for Bura parliamentary member Mr. Mohamed   Hassan
Dube, former deputy speaker and Chewani MCAs Mr. Mohamed Salim Aribicho, former senatorial candidates Mr. Bakari Garise Omara, Mr. Omar Kofa Komora, Mr. Michael Justin Nkaduda, former Hirimani ward MCA aspirants Mr. Daud Galdesa Tuyo, Mr. Hassan Malibe Morowa and Mr. Ishaaq Buya.
In the first round  of voting Nkaduda had  14 votes while Dube got 8 votes  against  Mr. Dukicha’s one vote.
With none of the candidates garnering the 2/3 required to be elected as speaker, a  rerun which was between Mr. Nkaduda and Dube put  Mr. Nkaduda as the winner after he garnered  15 votes while his opponent remained at 8 votes.
Mr. Mungatana Danson, Ibrahim Sane and Ishaaq Buya didn’t appear in the ballot process as they had earlier withdrawn from the contest.
Speaking to Baraka FM on phone,  former Garsen member of parliament said he decided to withdraw from the race due to unavoidable circumstances.
“I decided to withdraw from the contest and I wrote a letter in my withdrawal and I said it was because of unavoidable circumstances,” Mr. Mungatana confirmed.
Former Garsen MP Ibrahim Sane also withdrew from the race though he did not explain his reasons.
The county  assembly  will have  23 members which comprises of fifteen elected members and 7 nominated members unlike the last county assembly which has 26 members.
8 women   who include Ms. Fauzia Hachewele Sadik for Sala ward, Roda Katisha for Garsen South and Sauda Maiya Loda for Chewani ward  and nominated MCA’s Fatuma Diramo representing gender, Maryam Guracho Hargamso representing gender, Faith Tumaini representing Youth, Salma Gawachu representing youth, Firo Hija Finan representing minority will be in the county assembly.
Nomination for male members went to Mr. Said Godana representing persons living with disabilities, Osman Haji for minority and Gurati Hassan for youth.
The speaker election exercise took place after the swearing in of the 23 members of county assembly.