Lusaka, Farah Malim among candidates eyeing senate speakers post


Nairobi,KENYA:The 11th senate speaker Ekwe Ethuro and National Assembly speaker Justin Muturi are among candidates who qualified for the elections of the two houses slated for Thursday this week.

According to the clerk of the National Assembly Michael Salai ,out of six candidates who applied for the job ,only three qualified  whom include,Dr Noah Winja ,Justin Muturi and Washintone Andango ,while Jim Boniface ,Isaac  Wangengi and Gladys Kasiva didn’t qualify.

In the senate more than 19  members submitted their applications for the senate speaker while seven members were duly nominated for the election of the post who include Ekwe Ethuro, Farah Maalim, James Gisami, Kenneth Lusaka, Paul Ribathi, Govin Gorasia and Wilfred Machage.

The four candidates who were duly nominated for the deputy senate speaker post  include Johnstone Sakaja, Irungu Khangata ,Kimani Wamatangi and Susan Kihika.

The elections of the both speakers, deputy speakers and swearing in of Members of parliament and senators is scheduled on Thursday this week.