Mohammed Ali(Jicho Pevu) declared new Nyali Mp

Mohammed Ali receive's his certificate as the new Nyali MP. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Mombasa,KENYA: Former KTN journalist Mohammed Ali has been declared the new Nyali constituency Member of parliament.

Moha as he is popularly known, emerged victorious garnering 26, 788 votes against Mombasa governor’s brother Said Ali Abdalla (Saidoo) of ODM who got 16,473 votes.

The investigative journalist ran as an independent following ” bungled ODM party primaries” where he lost to Saidoo.

Other notable winners include former Mombasa Women representative Mishi Mboko (ODM) who floored seasoned politician Masoud Mwahima of Jubilee.

Mishi Mboko displays here certificate after being declared the Likoni MP.

Mboko emerged victorious after garnering 27,462 while Mwahima got 14,684.

Also, Kisauni MP Rashid Bedziba lost his seat to new comer Ali Mbogo who garnered 34,898 votes against Bedzimba’s 29,752 votes.

Ali Mbogo receives his certificate after being declared Kisauni MP.

In Malindi, the outgoing women representative Aisha Jumwa saw off jubilee’s Phillip Charo to win the parliamentary seat.

Jumwa had 28,788 votes ahainst Charo who managed 14,121. The outgoing Malindi Mp Willy Mtengo came a distant third with 6,658 votes.

Both Mishi Mboko and Aisha Jumwa made history as the first Women Mps for Likoni and Malindi respectively.