Lamu East MP retains seat as counterpart in West loses

LAmu West MP Julius Ndegwa (left) and Lamu East MP Shariff Ali Athman (right)

Lamu, KENYA: Lamu East MP Shariff Ali Athman has retained his seat after garnering 4,717 beating his three rivals who were eyeing the same seat.

Jubilant supporters at the Lamu east tallying centre at the Faza social hall couldn’t hold their joy and broke into song and dance when returning officer Japheth Omara declared Shariff the winner in the hotly contested elections.

There were jubilation at the Lamu East tallying centre at Faza Secondary school when the Returning Officer Mr Omara declared the winner in a hotly contested election.

Kombo Shekuwe Kahale came second with 4,384, Mohammed Madhubuti was third with 3,843 as Mohamed Ali Loo, last with 724 votes.

An elated Athman thanked the voters for re-electing him and promised to serve them effectively and fairly.

In 2013,Athman won by 3,292 votes.

Similarly,Lamu west now has a new MP in PNU’s Stanley Muthama after he floored incumbent Julius Ndgegwa and ODM’s Rishad Amana.

Muthama got 11,462 votes against his close rival Amana who got 10,034 votes.

The incumbent managed to get 8,806 votes.