Nanok elected new Council of Governors Chair

Turkana governor Josephat Nanok who is also the chairman of the COG . Governors have backed the referendum call PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: Turkana governor Josephat Nanok has been elected as the new chair of council of governors taking over from Meru Governor Peter Munya.

Nanok was elected by the 47 governors who convened a meeting in a Nairobi hotel on Monday. He will be deputized by re-elected  Taita Taveta governor John Mruttu.

Kiambu governor William Kabogo was elected in the slot of chief whip of the council.

Speaking after the elections, Nanok said that he will speared head the devolution dream which is the core mandate of the council and governors as well.

He complimented his successors Meru governor Peter Munya and Bomet governor Isaac Ruto, for making the council governors docket a success in devolution matters.

The team was elected after the State of Devolution address as overseen by Chief Justice David Maraga.

“I congratulate the Council of Governors for the smooth election of new leadership.” Munya said after the closed-door process.

He asked his counterparts to preach peace during campaigns and the election.

Nanok has been on the limelight after clashing with President Uhuru Kenyatta on devolution matters in Turkana.