New CRA commissioners sworn in

New CRA Chairperson Dr. Jane Kiringai greets the Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu(right) at the Swearing in Ceremony of new CRA commissioners. Looking on is Mr. Abdikadir Mohamed, Senior Advisor, Constitutional and Legal Affairs in the Office of the President. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: Eight commissioners were on Tuesday sworn in by Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu to
head the Commission on Revenue Allocation.

Speaking during the swearing in ceremony at the Supreme Court, Nairobi on behalf of chief justice David Maraga, the deputy chief justice, Philomena Mwilu, urged commissioners to obey the oath of office and uphold devolution.

“The oath that you have taken today, should guide you in the discharge of your duties, you therefore
must serve Kenyan’s first and ensure devolution works,” she said.

Former World Bank Senior Economist Jane Kiringai was sworn in as the new chairperson to take over from Mr Micah Cheserem.

Other members of the new team of commissioners are: Prof. Edward Akong’o Oyugi, Mr. Humphrey Wattanga, Prof. Peter Kiko Kimuyu, Ms. Fauza Abdikadir Dahir, Mr. Kishanto ole Suuji, Dr. Irene C. Koech Asienga, Mr. Peter Njeru Gachuba and Dr. Kamau Thugge (PS, Treasury).

The new team is expected  to serve for a period of 6 years.

The Commission’s primary mandate is to recommend the basis for equitable sharing of  revenue raised nationally and in counties, between national and county governments.

That basis is approved by the Senate and used for three years.