Wafula Chebukati sworn in as new IEBC chair

New IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati. PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: Wafula Chebukati and other six commissioners have been sworn in to lead the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

In an event graced by chief Justice David Maraga in the supreme court in Nairobi on Friday ,Chebukati said  IEBC will uphold the principles of fair play by working with all stakeholders to ensure free and fair elections are realized come August 8.

“Fellow Kenyans, your vote counts. Your vote at the ballot can change things. “Chebukati said.

The six commissioners include Consolata Nkatha, Bucha Maina, Boya Molu, Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya and Abdi Guliye.

Attorney general Githu Muigai urged Chebukati to be robust while executing his mandate following the fact that his work will face politicians who will be expected to present clean bill of health on integrity issues.

He urged him to desist from any arm twisting tendencies from the political class as the country heads towards general elections.

On the other hand ,Chief Justice David Maraga urged the IEBC boss to ensure that the August general elections will be free, fair and peaceful.

“Article 81(e)and 86 which enumerate principles of free fair elections are not mere words . IEBC had constitutional obligation to breath life into those prescriptions.” Maraga said.

President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed Chebukati as the new IEBC chairman, following his approval by Parliament.

The seven form the new team replacing Issack Hassan and his team of commissioners who resigned in October last year.