Tana River leaders have failed to fight hunger in the region, says...

Tana River leaders have failed to fight hunger in the region, says Senator Bule

by -
0 393
The skeletal remains of a cow after a drought .Hundreds of livestock have been reported to have died in various parts of Lamu county following a drought. FILE/PHOTO.

Nairobi,KENYA: TanaRiver senator Ali Abdi Bule  has accused TanaRiver leaders of  failing to unite in a bid to fight hunger crisis rocking the county.

He has also  urged the government to move with speed  in tackling the crisis affecting 150,000 residents in the county.

In a media briefing at parliamentary buildings on Friday, Bule  accused  Tana River Governor Hussein Dado and  other elected leaders for failing to unite to fight hunger crisis which has also affected 300,000 cattle.

“The county government is is not taking  this drought seriously and I urge the governor to adress this issue.”Bule said.

“I therefore urge MCAS from all the wards to wake up and ensure that the county government is suppoting this needy people.”He added.

He urged  the county government,national government and humanitarian organisations to chip in and salvage the situation.

“The pastoralists communities are seriuosly facing food and water shortage.All water points that were being used as water sources have all dried up.The dried up water points illustrate the seriuosness of the threat to lives and livestock.”Bule said.

He urged the government to increase funds for hunger insisting that sh.250 million  set aside for the affected counties  which include Kilifi,TanaRiver, Kwale, Taita Taveta and Garrissa is  not enough.

“I want to strongly emphasize that the condition of pastorallist communities on the ground is very much alarming and could worsen if urgent drastic action is not taken. “He reiterated.

He pointed that there is need for the government  to declare the situation a national disaster.

Bule warned that if the situation will not be salvaged early enough, it will affect education system in the affected counties .