40  legislators defect to jubilee as ruto assures dissolved parties fair nomination

40  legislators defect to jubilee as ruto assures dissolved parties fair nomination

by -
0 564
Delegates from various Jubilee affiliate parties, led by Tourism CS Najib Balala (centre). PHOTO: COURTESY.

Nairobi, KENYA: Approximately 40  legislators  from various political parties have defected from their parties including ODM and wiper to  join Jubilee party as president Uhuru Kenyatta is scheduled to grace the newly formed Jubilee party on Saturday.

The number of legislators who defected was divulged  by majority leader Aden Duale at  national delegates conference in Nairobi’s
Kasarani Gymnasium  in an event which was graced by deputy president William Ruto.

“All these MPs and others who will come tomorrow have come from ODM, PNU and Wiper they have decided to voluntarily join JP. You either belong to a national party or a tribal party,” Duale said.

Some of those who have defected  to Jubilee party include Tigania East
MP Mpuri Aburi, Mathare MP Stephen Kariuki, Laisamis MP Joseph Lekuton, Lunga Lunga MP Khatib Mwashetani, Kilifi South MP Mustafa Idd
and Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro.

Deputy president William Ruto assured the dissolved parties the nomination of Jubilee party in the upcoming general election will be
free and fair because it will be conducted by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

“I know some of  you are uncertain on the credibility of nominations , because most of the time parties don’t have capacity to conduct
nominations due to logistical support ,to carry out credible nominations  i want to tell  you that we have now enshrined in the the law because the constitution section 88, 4, 2 gives the responsibility to  manage nominations of  parties  to IEBC ,”Ruto said.

“The government of Kenya will give out public funds IEBC to carry out nomination exercises for parties who are willing.” He added.