Cord names representatives to spear head IEBC talks

Cord names representatives to spear head IEBC talks

by -
0 434
NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka and co principal Moses Wetangula PHOTO COURTESY

Nairobi, KENYA:The Coalition for Reforms and Democracy (CORD) on Thursday named five legislators to represent the coalition in dialogue over electoral reforms of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

The legislators include Siaya Senator James Orengo, his Machakos counterpart Johnson Muthama, Tongaren MP Eseli Simiyu, Suna East MP Junet Mohammed and Mombasa Women Representative Mishi Mboko.

CORD principals Raila Odinga and Moses Wetangula had on Wednesday asked Jubilee to also prepare their list for talks to discuss issues affecting IEBC and elections as a whole.

The coalition gave an ultimatum to the government to begin the dialogue process failure to which it will resume weekly protests .

On the other hand ,Jubilee has insisted that it will not engage CORD in out-of-Parliament discussion urging CORD to use parliament to solve IEBC crisis.

CORD has also named two secretaries; Paul Mwangi and Grace Katasi as joint secretaries in the dialogue.

READ ALSO: Dialogue or no dialogue CORD should stop IEBC demos during Ramadhan, says CIPK

Cord said its team will spearhead structured dialogue on electoral reforms and removal of iebc commissioners from office