Leicester City wins EPL after Tottenham draw at Chelsea

Leicester City wins EPL after Tottenham draw at Chelsea

by -
0 392
Leicester City players celebrating in a past match. PHOTO: COURTESY.

London, ENGLAND: Leicester City has been declared the English Premier League champions for the 2015/16 season after second placed Tottenham Hot Spurs failed to beat Chelsea.

Tottenham needed victory against Chelsea to close the gap between them and leaders Leicester to five points with two matches remaining.

Spurs however could not achieve the fete as they gave away a 2-0 first half lead to settle for a two all draw with outgoing champions Chelsea.

The result leaves them seven points adrift of Leicester with two matches to play meaning the league-leading Foxes secured their place in history with a first ever title.

Formed 132 years ago, the club is only the sixth since 1992 to win the title.

It had only a fraction of the money commanded by top clubs and its leading scorer, Jamie Vardy, was playing in England’s lower divisions while working at a factory.

Having spent most of last season languishing near the bottom of the league rankings, the club’s meteoric rise to the top is breathtaking