Five Baraka FM journalists among Media Council Kenya 2016 awards finalists

Five Baraka FM journalists among Media Council Kenya 2016 awards finalists

by -
0 611

Nairobi, KENYA: Baraka FM, the Coast region’s leading radio broadcaster, is sending five of its journalists to Nairobi after they were named finalists in the Media Council of Kenya’s 2016 Annual Journalists Excellence Awards (AJEA).

The awards, slated for May 3 at the Intercontinental Hotel, recognize journalists who outdo themselves in reporting on matters that impact on economic and social-political lives of citizens.

From Mombasa, Baraka FM is represented by numerous award winner Diana Wanyonyi, Joseph Jira, Oscar Nyoha and new entrant Brian Osweta, while Albert Mwangeka was shortlisted from Nairobi.

The five have compiled compelling feature stories for both radio and online platforms, covering different topics from public health to Information Communication Technology (ICT), Environment and reproductive health, among others.

They were shortlisted from a competitive pool of thousand applicants across the country.

The four will be battling to win in different categories as well as the coveted top journalist of the year award.

Last year Baraka FM also thrived in the press awards with several of its journalists emerging winners.

George Otieno and Janet Kilalo were overall winners in Health category following their feature touching on Male family planning, while Joseph Jira won the ICT and telecommunication category.

Former Deputy News Editor Josephat Kioko bagged the winner’s medal in good governance category.

President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to grace the event, which will coincide with the World Press Freedom Day.