Five Kenyans win CNN Multichoice African Journalists of the Year Awards

Five Kenyans win CNN Multichoice African Journalists of the Year Awards

by -
0 472
George Otieno of Baraka FM (middle,) Enock Shikoli of NTV (right) and a colleague before the award ceremony.

The five journalists including Baraka FM News Anchor George Otieno  were awarded as winners and runner-ups  during this year’s CNN Multichoice African Journalists of the Year Awards  gala held in Nairobi.

Mr Otieno became second in his health reporting category after Ibanga Isine of Nigeria was declared winner in that category.

Paul Kelemba  aka Mado of  Standard Newspapaer was awarded winner in the Infrastructure reporting category while  Enock Sikolia & Charles Kariuki of NTV won in  the investigative reporting category.

The five Kenyan journalists were among the 24 nominated finalists nominited as finalists in the Most prestigious African Journalists Awards.

Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou of Burkina Faso was declared overall winner of the CNN/MultiChoice African Journalist 2015.

Mr. Otieno  of Baraka FM was nominated from among 1,400 entries received from over 34 nations across Africa.

The 5 minute radio feature submitted by Otieno dubbed Obstetric Fistula touched on 3 women who suffered from the condition but eventually got treatment and healed completely.

The award ceremony was graced by President Uhuru Kenyatta who challenged international media to stop portraying Kenya negatively in their reporting.