Baraka FM journalists shine again at journalism excellence awards fete.

Baraka FM journalists shine again at journalism excellence awards fete.

by -
1 1643

Baraka FM journalists scooped numerous awards, during the 2015 Media Council of Kenya (MCK), Annual Journalism Excellence Awards gala held in Nairobi on Monday, stamping the station’s authority as a leader in the radio broadcast trade.

Seven journalists who got nominated for the awards scooped first position in four categories, and got named among the top three finalists in eight others, beating seasoned journalists from other regional and national media houses.

Josephat Kioko, Baraka FM’s deputy news editor, won the best journalist on governance reporting award, as Joseph Jira won in the ICT and Telecommunication category.

Janet Kilalo and George Otieno emerged winners in the health reporting category.

Jira and Kioko were also among the top three in the gender and sports reporting categories respectively, while Otieno also emerged in the top trio under the radio news bulletin category.

Senior reporter Diana Wanyonyi, a multiple award winner, was named among the three finalists under children and youth reporting, as Baraka FM’s senior Nairobi reporter Albert Mwangeka finished among the three top finalists in both environment and ICT and telecommunication reporting.

Oscar Nyoha was top three in the health reporting category.

Other winners from the Coast included Radio Salaam’s Solomon Zully, who won in the Tourism reporting and radio news bulletin categories, Citizen radio’s George Aoko, in the business reporting category and KTN’s John Juma and Moses Baya, who won in the television Arts and Culture category.

Winners were awarded with trophies, certificates and will each receive a cheque of Kshs. 40,000.

The awards are held annually to recognise journalists who go out of their way to do stories that impact on society.