Kenyan athletes hopeful as new season begins.

Kenyan athletes hopeful as new season begins.

by -
90 1592

A new athletics season just started and 2014 looks yet another promising year for Kenya, ahead of the Commonwealth Games scheduled in July in Glasgow, Scotland.

The IAAF Diamond League series started this week in Doha,Qatar, and will be held in 14 different cities in various continents untill September this year.

The hugely-paying Diamond League has again attracted World class athletes, the likes of Olympic champion Asbel Kiprop from Kenya who ran this year’s World leading time in Doha-Qatar in 1,500m, clocking 3:29:18 minutes.

Kenyan compatriot Silas Kiplagat with 3:29:70 minutes is the second fastest in the world this year over the same distance.

In the traditional 3,000m Steeplechase Kenyans have send an early alarm to the world after Ezekiel Kemboi led compatriots to take top 8 positions in Qatar over the weekend. Kemboi is both Olympic and World Champion in 3,000m Steeplechase.

Helen Obiri is also on form this season having won the first Diamond League in Doha over the weekend where she set a new African record of 8 minutes 20 seconds in the women’s 3,000m flat.

Mercy Cherono was second in the race that saw Kenya dominate all top four positions.

Another medal prospect this year is 800m World champion Eunice Sum who won the two-lap race in Doha-Qatar in a time of 1 minute and 59.3 seconds, yet another leading time this year according to the IAAF records.

Eunice beat former Commonwealth champion Janeth Jepkosgei to fourth position.

All these big names are currently in Shanghai, China, alongside others, for the second leg of the IAAF Diamond League starting this Friday.

Other athletes include Ethiopian Mohammed Aman and double Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser – Pryce of Jamaica, currently the global sprint champion.

The biggest event this year is the Commonwealth Games slated for Scotland in July.

Athletics Kenya will hold the national trials next month at Nyayo National stadium in Nairobi to select the final squad for the Commonwealth Games.