Baraka FM journalists glow at 2014 Media Council of Kenya Excellence Awards.

Baraka FM journalists glow at 2014 Media Council of Kenya Excellence Awards.

by -
81 1221

Four Baraka FM journalists scooped top honours during the 2014 Media Council of Kenya (MCK) annual journalism excellence awards, flooring big names in Kenya’s mainstream media.

At a gala night held at the Kenyatta International Conference Center in Nairobi over the weekend, Diana Wanyonyi, Baraka FM’s senior reporter won the first prize in three different categories, best reporter in children and youth reporting which she had won against in 2013, Health reporting and good governance reporting in the radio Category.

She also emerged third in the gender reporting category.

Albert Mwangeka, also a senior reporter and first entrant into the awards, was ranked second in both good governance reporting and best business reporter.

Joseph Jira, who entered the awards for the first time as well, came out third in the young journalist of the year, and best reporter in ICT and telecommunication categories.

Josephat Kioko, Baraka FM’s sports guru, scooped second position in the best sports reporter of the year with his sports feature on street children world cup that was held in Brazil in March, and in which a group of Mombasa’s street children participated.

Dennis Okari, a former Baraka FM journalist won the prestigious best overall journalist of the year award with an investigative story he did on terrorism unpreparedness at Nation Television.

Winners were rewarded with cash, trophies, certificates, decoders, mobile phones and Safaricom airtime.

The overall winner also took home a Samsung tablet and a 52 inch flat screen television.

“I want to strive to win in more categories next year. I am eying the overall winner’s price,” Diana said.